HirShabelle Upper House election committee announced

1 min read

HirShabelle Speaker of Parliament Abdihakim Luqman Haji recently announced a committee to conduct the election of members of the Upper House from HirShabelle State.

The committee appointed by Chairman Abdihakim consists of about 15 members with only one female representative. Ahmed Weli Hassan has be selected as the chairman with Ahmed Gaal as the deputy chairman. 

Abdihakim said he appointed the committee in accordance with Articles 31 and 41 of the HirShabelle Administration Constitution and Articles 13 and 50 of the HirShabelle Parliamentary Rules.

The chairman said his nominees all have experience and knowledge of electoral matters.

The appointment of the commission comes at a time when there has been a rift between the members of the Federal Electoral Commission of HirShabelle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!