New Chairman Elected to the Electoral Dispute Resolution Committee

2 min read

Members of the Federal Electoral Dispute Resolution Committee have today elected a new chairman, following an election held at the Aficio Tent Camp in Mogadishu.

Two candidates, Mohamed Awil Warsame and Mustaf Maalim Ali, ran for the chairmanship, but Mustaf later resigned.

The committee members then voted in favor of Mohamed Awil with 21 votes, making him the new chairman of the Resolution Committee.

Mohamed is new to the commission and is one of the members Prime Minister Roble replaced with by the seven members Roble previously removed from the Dispute Resolution Committee.

The defeated candidate had joined the committee from Galmudug, and was nominated by State president Qoor Qoor who is now very close to outgoing president Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo.

This means that the prime minister’s will for a non favouring impartial chairmanship who has no political ties is head of the Dispute Resolution Committee, which is crucial for the current election in the country, and is the only body that decides on the seats to be disputed before or after the election.

Speaking on the occasion, Deputy Minister of Information Abdirahman Yusuf Al-Adala immediately congratulated the newly elected chairman.

“Congratulations to the new Chairman of the Electoral Disputes Resolution Committee, Mr. Mohamed Awil Warsame,” said Al-Adala, a close ally of the prime minister.

He added: “His election is a positive step that will play a key role in maintaining the integrity of the election.”

It is Roble’s second victory, following the recent election of Muse Guelleh Yusuf from Puntland as chairman of the Indirect Electoral Commission, backed by Said Deni and the Prime Minister of Somalia.

This coincides with the start of the Parliamentary Elections, which are expected to conclude on February 25, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!